Storm Jameson was immensely prolific and wrote a great many novels not to mention three autobiographies, two edited collections of essays, six plays, numerous short stories, several works of criticism  and a vast amount of journalism.  This is by no means a result of her love of writing, which she often found an arduous process, but actually for financial reasons. She wrote to live.

It is my intention to put details of many of these publications all here for general information, as well as some reviews of those I have read and enjoyed or found particularly challenging.


  • The Pot Boils (London: Constable & Co. 1919).
  • Modern Drama in Europe (London: Heinemann 1920).
  • The Happy Highways (London: Heinemann 1920).
  • The Clash (London: Heinemann 1922).
  • Lady Susan and Life. An Indiscretion (London: Chapman & Dodd 1923).
  • The Pitiful Wife (London: Constable 1923).
  • Three Kingdoms (London: Constable 1926).
  • Farewell to Youth (London: Heinemann 1928).
  • The Triumph of Time Trilogy
  • The Lovely Ship (London: Heinemann 1927).
  • The Voyage Home (London: Heinemann 1930).
  • A Richer Dust (London: Heinemann 1931).
  • The Single Heart (London: Ernest Benn 1932).
  • A Day Off (London: I. Nicholson & Watson 1933)
  • Women Against Men (collected novellas: A Day Off, Delicate Monster, The Single Heart. Published by Knopf in American in 1933 and then re-published by Virago in 1982).
  • The Mirror In Darkness Trilogy
  • Company Parade (London: Cassell 1934. Re-published by Virago 1982).
  • Love In Winter (London: Cassell 1935. Re-published by Virago 1984).
  • None Turn Back (London: Cassell 1936. Re-published by Virago 1984).
  • In the Second Year (London: Cassell 1936. Re-published with Introduciton by Stan Smith by Nottingham Trent Editions 2004).
  • The Moon Is Making (London: Cassell 1937).
  • The World Ends (London: Dent& Sons 1937 – under the pseudonym, William Lamb).
  • Loving Memory (London: Collins 1937-under the pseudonym James Hill).
  • No Victory for the Soldier (London: Collins 1938 – under the pseudonym James Hill).
  • Here Comes A Candle (London: Cassell 1928).
  • Farewell Night, Welcome Day (London: Cassell 1939) (Released in America as The Captain’s Wife – this edition is often easier to get hold of).
  • Europe to Let: The Memoirs of an Obscure Man (London: Cassell 1940).
  • Cousin Honoré (London: Cassell 1940).
  • The Fort (London: Cassell 1941).
  • Then We Shall Hear Singing: A Fantasy In C Major (London: Cassell 1942).
  • Cloudless May (London: Macmillan 1943).
  • The Journal of Mary Harvey Russell (London: Macmillan 1945).
  • The Other Side (London: Macmillan 1946).
  • Before the Crossing (London: Macmillan 1947).
  • The Black Laurel (London: Macmillan 1947).
  • The Moment of Truth (London: Macmillan 1949).
  • The Green Man (London: Macmillan 1953).
  • The Hidden River (London: Macmillan 1955).
  • The Intruder (London: Macmillan 1956).
  • A Cup of Tea for Mr Thorgill (London: Macmillan 1956).
  • A Ullysses Too Many (London: Macmillan 1958).
  • Last Score, or, The Private Life of Sir Richard Ormston (London: Macmillan 1961).
  • The Road from the Monument (London: Macmillan 1962).
  • The Aristide Case (London: Macmillan 1964).
  • The Early Life of Stephen Hind (London: Macmillan 1966).
  • The White Crow (London: Macmillan 1968).
  • There Will Be A Short Interval (London: Macmillan 1968).


  • Modern Drama in Europe (London: Collins and Co. 1920)
  • The Decline of Merry England (London: Cassell and Company,1930)
  •  [Editor] Challenge to Death (London: Constable &Co. Ltd. 1934) (New York: Dutton 1935)
  • The Novel in Contemporary Life (Boston, Mass.: The Writer Inc. 1938)
  • Civil Journey (London: Cassell and Company Limited 1939)
  • The End of This War (London: George Allen and Unwin Ltd 1941)
  • [Editor] London Calling (New York and London: Harper and Brothers 1942)
  • The Writer’s Situation and Other Essays (London: Macmillan and Co. Ltd. 1950; New York: The Macmillan Company 1950)
  • Morley Roberts: The Last Eminent Victorian (London: Unicorn Press 1961)
  • Parthian Words (London: Collins and Harvill Press, 1970; New York: Harper and Row 1971)
  • Speaking of Stendhal (London: Gollancz, 1979)


  •   No Time Like the Present (London: Cassell and Company 1933)
  •  Journey From the North, 2 vols (London: Collins and Harvill 1969-70, rpt. London: Virago Press Ltd, 2 vols, 1984; New York: Harper and Row, 1 vol., 1971)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s